Blessings left and right…

Has this ever happened to you? You prayed for this to happen, or for it to happen smoothly. And then you simply put one foot in front of the other, all the while believing (and reminding yourself) that God is who He says He is, God can do what He says He can do, you are who God says you are, you can do all things through Christ, and God’s Word is alive and active in you (thanks Beth Moore!).

Image

This is for you today. Because I really wasn’t ready for all this. My mom and I moved here to Norfolk last Saturday, the 8th. Both of us landed great jobs within days. We didn’t really get to see our new home beyond pictures and through a relative who lives nearby. We didn’t foresee that front lawn, picket fence, little porch and lush bush that was in my last post. We didn’t foresee all the colors our home would have, our cute kitchen, our cuter bathroom, and a gorgeous backyard with more lush bushes, a little swing and a nice-sized deck.

I didn’t foresee or imagine the surrounding neighborhood would be both peaceful and diverse. I had an idea that we were going to be living in the suburbs (thanks Google Maps) and had no doubts I’d be bored certain expectations. And these folks here? Let’s just say that there’s a spirit of love, power, and self-control that is overwhelming – and I can’t fight it. At all.

But there’s always something that tends to happen, and there’s always a need that increases whenever I walk into great things. What tends to happen is a little voice from the pit starts speaking, saying that now that I’ve got this and/or am experiencing this, it can’t get any better from here. I can let God go now. He was my stepping stone.

Image

This is a lie always and only from the pit that needs to be rejected. Always.

The need that increases when I start hearing lies from the pit and am tempted to believe them, is humility. Beginning with running to God when I seem to be winning, not just when I have a request, anxiety, or some type of growing pain (long-suffering anyone?) God has not, is not and never will be circumstantial and conditional like my heart can be. Nope.

“Don’t be deceived, my dear brothers and sisters. Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows.” James 1:16-17 (NIV)

I’m grateful. We’ve had a really smooth transition from South Carolina to Virginia in the past week and a half. And there’s still so much work that has to be done by us and in us, by Christ. And I thank and praise Him!

At the moment I’m still waiting for a church. In the midst of all these blessings and settling into a new physical home, I need a spiritual one. Please keep me and my mom in prayer as we continue to follow God’s direction for one.

One more thing to remember,

Image

Leave a Reply

