The Last Semester. End of Week 1.

Here’s what I got:

English 301 – My first creative writing workshop! After hearing so much about our “awesome” and “rock-star” creative writing faculty, along with a new appreciation of my unfiltered, non-MLA conforming voice on paper (combined with a serious resentment of academic essays), I decided there was no way I could get my B.A. without ONE creative writing class.

English 443 – Studies in Women’s Writers: Love and Marriage. Now, I registered for this class under the impression that I had no other choices but American Writers (another American Lit class I wasn’t suffering through), A Chaucer class, another class focusing on the Victorian novel, and a couple of other creative writing classes that I didn’t think I could register for based on the fact that I had no previous creative writing classes. Well, during my first ENG 301 class, I learned that a classmate was taking both 301 and an upper level creative non-fiction class, with the same professor. I saw a loophole. I felt like I’ve had enough battle of the sexes digressions  gender studies hidden in my courses for the last three years and I was tired of talking about it, in the same era nonetheless! (This class focuses on women in the Victorian era) I immediately wanted out. The catches? I had already submitted my graduation application and the creative non fiction class was full. None of these kept me from exploring my options. (And I did see classes that were more overbooked/out of space than the CNF class).

Since my advisor had went on sabbatical this semester, I decided to make my 301 professor my last advisor, and met with him to see if I could possibly register for the CNF class, despite the slight complications. He informed me that with the students he already had, he was still overbooked, but to keep an eye out for those that will drop during the weekend, (as the drop/add period ends in a few days).

Now, the first few days in the class haven’t been bad at all, as matter fact the only thing boring about the course is what we’re reading. Belinda, Villette, Mill on The Floss. All Victorian, European, aristocratic, sap stories with extra “elevated” language. Triple yawn.

Then yawn some more.

Complaints aside, I feel like I’m in my first book club (with way too many fan references to Twilight, The Hunger Games, and Fifty Shades of Grey). Its been fun and lively so far.

English 277 – Literature Across Cultures: The Apocalypse. This course is being taught by a professor that taught an interview class for a 300-level survey course I took a few semesters ago. This survey class dealt with Gothic literature and my section was Tuesdays & Thursdays at 8 a.m. This woman spoke with a slow and low-toned drag (no accent, just think of someone that’s not completely awake and interested in talking that much) trying to facilitate a discourse on Nikolai Gogol’s The Overcoat, an otherwise intriguing and haunting short story, and just drove it into the ground for me. I’m still in shock that she was offered a position in the English department. Mean?Maybe. Negative? Sure. A lie? Certainly not. An honest, well-contemplated assessment from a graduating senior? Absolutely.

Our apocalyptic class also begins at 8 a.m. Tuesdays and Thursdays. And even though it’s a 200-level course (low writing/project intensity) I’m struggling to give this professor my full attention and respect, and that’s a problem. I’m stuck.

English 411 – Capstone Seminar taught by the Chair of the English Department. Almost a distance learning course. SHOULD HAVE BEEN a distance learning course. We will be spending 2 hours every Monday discussing a novel, some career tips from a book (which will probably be outdated next year since our awesome job market is reliably unpredictable).  We will also be compiling a portfolio of our best writing over the last four years or so (I’ve been an English major for three). These are all things that in my humble opinion, could’ve been submitted on Blackboard with discussion posts.

Spanish 323 – Intermediate Spanish for Business and Tourism. Sure to be my toughest class this semester, I can have some peace of mind knowing that our professor was originally scheduled to teach this class, and therefore will be flexible (not to be confused with easy) with us.

Spanish 380 – Studies in World Cinema (with an emphasis on Hispanic film). Well, according to our syllabus, there won’t be many Hispanic films as much as directors of Spanish descent. And this class will be focused on the semiotics of cinema – as a movie buff, I’m excited for this class. Our professor really put a scare into us our first class by saying “I just want you to know what you’re getting into. This is a theory class, if you don’t think you’ll be interested or will have a hard time in this class, it’s not for you.” Not too many professors are caring and honest enough to say those things. And as much as I don’t care for anymore theory, I’ll stick this one out. I get to watch movies and analyze them!

Stay tuned for week 2.

 

Leave a Reply

